# RESOLUTION OF THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

25<sup>TH</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Year, 2023

### AN ACTION

RELATING TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE; APPOINTING
DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE TO THE
NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC AS A MEMBER
REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AS A
SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES PUBLISHING COMPNAY
AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A SHAREHOLDER
REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS
CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE

#### BE IT ENACTED:

### SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

A. The Budget and Finance Committee is established as a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 300(A).

### SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. Standing committees are required to select a member to serve as a Shareholder Representative or Member Representative for certain Navajo Nation enterprises.
- B. The Operating Agreement of the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC, at Article III (C) states that the membership interest in the Company "shall be exercised by five (5) "member representatives," composed of one (1) member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council (or their successor committees)...."
- C. The By-Laws of the Diné Development Corporation provide, "[a]s the sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation will be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the

- five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees ..."
- D. The By-Laws of the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc. state, "[a]s a sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation shall be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives; comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees ..."
- E. The By-Laws of the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution state that "the Navajo Nation's shares in the corporation shall be exercised by five (5) "Shareholder Representatives," composed of the one member (1) of the Standing Committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees ..."
- F. The Charter of the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation Article V (D) states "All rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees ..."
- G. The Budget and Finance Committee is permitted to designate one-member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, the Diné Development Corporation, the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc., and the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution.

# SECTION THREE. BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE AND SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE DESIGNEES

- A. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company:

  Hon. Lomardo Aseret.
- B. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Diné Development Corporation: Hon. Norman M. Begay.
- C. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc.: <u>Hon. Shaandiin Parrish.</u>

- D. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution: Hon. Carl R. Slater.
- E. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation: Hon. Seth Damon.

### CERTIFICATION

I, hereby, certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Budget and Finance Committee of the Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting held at Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona) at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 4 in favor and 1 opposed, this 6<sup>th</sup> day of June 2023.

Carl R. Slater, Vice Chairperson Budget and Finance Committee

Motion: Honorable Seth A. Damon Second: Honorable Shaandiin Parrish

# BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE June 6, 2023

**Regular Meeting** 

### **VOTE TALLY SHEET:**

Legislation No. 0117-23: An Action Relating to the Budget and Finance Committee; Appointing Delegate Members from the Budget and Finance Committee to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC as a Member Representative; the Dine Development Corporation as a Shareholder Representative; The Navajo Times Publishing Company as a Shareholder Representative; The Navajo Community Development Financial Institution as a Shareholder Representative; and to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation as a Shareholder

ia

20.10

17.

1,197.

.

Representative; Sponsored by Shaandiin Parrish, Council Delegate

Motion: Seth A. Damon Second: Shaandiin Parrish

Vote: 4-1, Vice Chairperson not voting

## **Final Vote Tally:**

Lomardo Aseret	yea	
Norman M. Begay	yea	
Amber K. Crotty		nay
Seth A. Damon	yea	
Shaandiin Parrish	yea	
Carl R. Slater		

Carl R. Slater, Vice Chairperson Budget & Finance Committee

Peggy Nakai Legislative Advisor Budget & Finance Committee