## RESOLUTION OF THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

## 23rd NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - SECOND YEAR, 2016

#### AN ACTION

RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; AMENDING THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' NAVAJO SEXUAL ASSAULT PREVENTION SUBCOMMITTEE

#### BE IT ENACTED:

## Section One. Authority

A. Naabik'íyáti' Committee holds the authority to establish the Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee and such subcommittee shall exist until its assigned tasks are completed and a report and recommendation is made to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 186 (2012); see also CJA-03-13.

# Section Two. Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Subcommittee Establishment

- A. The Navajo Nation establishes the Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee to strengthen the response to sexual assault victims, explore the possibility of data sharing and cross-deputation, explore the possibility of developing a coordinated community response to sexual assault, strengthen the sexual assault laws, and other issues that develop during the meetings regarding sexual assault.
- B. The Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee shall consist of six members who are from the Law and Order and Health, Education and Human Services Committees. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee shall appoint the subcommittee members. The appointed delegates serve at the pleasure of the Naabik'íyáti' Committee. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee appoints the following delegates to the subcommittee:
  - 1. Nathaniel Brown, Naabik'íyáti' Committee
  - 2. Otto Tso, Law and Order Committee
  - 3. Dwight Witherspoon, Budget and Finance Committee

- 4. Amber Crotty, Health, Education and Human Services
  Committee
- 5. <u>Jonathan Hale</u>, Health, Education and Human Services
  Committee
- 6. Jonathan Perry, Resources and Development Committee

## Section Three. Subcommittee Term

The Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee shall exist until their assigned tasks are completed and shall report their recommendations to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 186 (2012); see also CJA-03-13.

#### Section Four. Directives

- A. The Speaker's Chief of Staff shall assign one policy analyst to assist the Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee.
- B. The Legislative Services' Executive Director shall assign two Office of Legislative Services staffers to assist the Naabik'íyáti' Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention Subcommittee.
- C. The Speaker shall determine a Subcommittee budget and identify the funds.

#### CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the 23<sup>rd</sup> Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 13 in favor and 0 opposed, this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of September 2016.

LoRenzo Bates, Chairperson Naabik'íyáti' Committee

Motion: Honorable Nathaniel Brown Second: Honorable Herman M. Daniels

## **NAVAJO NATION**

RCS# 536

Naa'bik'iyati Committee

9/2/2016

12:11:14 PM

Amd#1 to Amd#

Insert Hon. Brown for NABI

**PASSED** 

**MOT Tsosie** 

SEC Witherspoon

Yea: 11

Nay: 0

Not Voting: 13

Yea: 11

Bennett

**Daniels** 

Smith

Witherspoon

Brown

Hale

Tso

Yazzie, P

Damon

Phelps

Tsosie

Nay: 0

Not Voting: 13

**Bates** 

Chee

Jack

Shepherd

Begay, K Begay, NM Crotty

Perry

Slim

BeGaye, N

Filfred

Pete

Yazzie

## NAVAJO NATION

RCS# 537

Naa'bik'iyati Committee

9/2/2016

12:12:58 PM

Amd# to Amd#

Legislation No. 0273-16:

**PASSED** 

**MOT Brown** 

Amending the Naabik'iyati'

**SEC Daniels** 

Navajo Sexual Assault Prevention

Subcommittee

Yea: 13

Nay: 0

Not Voting: 11

Yea: 13

Bennett

Hale

Slim

Tsosie

Brown Damon Pete Phelps Smith Tso

Witherspoon Yazzie, P

**Daniels** 

Nay: 0

Not Voting: 11

Bates

Begay, K

Begay, NM

BeGaye, N

Chee

Crotty

Filfred Jack

Perry

Shepherd

Yazzie