## RESOLUTION OF THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

23<sup>RD</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Year, 2015

## AN ACTION

RELATING TO BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE; SELECTING AND APPOINTING A BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE MEMBER AS SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS COMPANY, INC.

BE IT ENACTED:

SECTION ONE. FINDINGS

- A. On October 5, 2015, the Navajo Nation Council ratified the Restated Federal Chapter of Incorporation for the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Company with the Navajo Regional Director's condition. CO-40-15, 23<sup>rd</sup> Navajo Nation Council (Oct. 5, 2015).
- B. The Ratified Charter states, "[a]ll rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees, in accordance with this Charter and the applicable tribal law..Each standing committee shall select its own shareholder representative." Restated Federal Chapter of Incorporation for the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Company art. V, sec. D.

- C. The Navajo Nation Council established the Budget and Finance Committee as a Navajo Nation standing committee. 2 N.N.C. §300
  (A) (2012) see also CJA-03-13.
- D. As a Navajo Nation Council standing committee, the Budget and Finance Committee shall select a member to serve as a Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative.
- E. Selecting and appointing a Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative is in the Navajo Nation's best interest.

## SECTION 2. SELECTION AND APPOINTMENT

The Budget and Finance Committee select and appoints <u>Dwight</u> <u>Witherspoon</u> as their Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative.

## CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Budget and Finance Committee of the Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting held at Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of November, 2015.

Seth Damon, Chairperson

Budget and Finance Committee

Motion: Tuchoney Slim, Jr. Second: Lee Jack, Sr.