RESOLUTION OF THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' STANDING COMMITTEE 24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL -- Fourth Year, 2022

AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; APPROVING AND ACCEPTING THE MONETARY DONATION OF \$10,000 FROM MICHAEL D. APGAR AND GRETCHEN D. APGAR TO THE OFFICE OF NAVAJO NATION SCHOLARSHIP AND FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR THE DINÉ ANNUAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND

BE IT ENACTED:

SECTION ONE. AUTHORITIES

- A. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee is a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 700(A).
- B. The President of the Navajo Nation shall, for and on behalf of the Navajo Nation, accept or decline gifts of property, provided that any such acceptance or refusal of a gift of an estimated value in excess of one thousand dollars (\$1,000) shall be with the concurrence of the Naabik'íyáti' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 1010.
- C. "All public officials, elected and non-elected, of the Navajo Nation receiving gifts, whether intended as a gift to the official or to the Navajo Nation, shall record or cause to be recorded such gift with the Ethics and Rules Office." 2 N.N.C. § 1012

SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. On December 31, 2021, the Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance received a donation from Michael D. Apgar and Gretchen D. Apgar in the amount of \$10,000 to the Diné Scholarship Annual Fund. The written check is attached as Exhibit A.
- B. The Diné Annual Scholarship Fund is a fund account of the Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship & Financial Assistance, and the funds are to be deposited in Business Unit 509007.
- C. For purposes of accounting and budgeting, and consistent with the intent and purpose of the donation, the Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance provided Budget Form 1. Budget Form 1 is attached as Exhibit B.
- D. The President of the Navajo Nation issued a letter to Michael D. Apgar and Gretchen D. Apgar expressing gratitude for the

generous contribution of scholarship funds to the Navajo Nation. The letter is attached as Exhibit C.

SECTION THREE. APPROVAL

- The Navajo Nation hereby concurs with the President of the Navajo Nation to accept the \$10,000 donation made to the Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance-Diné Annual Scholarship Fund from Michael D. Apgar and Gretchen D. Apgar.
- B. The Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance shall record the receipt of the donation with the Ethics and Rules Office pursuant to 2 N.N.C. § 1012.

CERTIFICATION

I, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the 24th Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 19 in Favor, and 00 Opposed, on this 31th day of August 2022.

> Honorable Seth Damon, Chairman Naabik'íyáti' Committee

> > Any 31, 2022

Motion: Honorable Edison J. Wauneka Second: Honorable Pernell Halona

Chairman Seth Damon not voting



MICHAEL D. APGAR GRETCHEN D. APGAR		8466
	7 7 7 7 7 7 7	2.3
PAYTOTHE OPTION WILLIAM TO MANAGE TO A MAN	- Due Scholarship \$ 100	u.fund
PAYTOTHE TUE Navayo Nulson -tentinousand and a	1 POLLARS	
		Deposito Designation
		10he
MEMO Donoutron.		E =
##[C < TII]	8466	
Constitution of the second state of the second		1

Page 1 of 3 **BUDGET FORM 1**

PROGRAM BUDGET SUMMARY THE NAVAJO NATION

(C) Difference or 10,000.00 10,000.00 Total Division/Branch: Department of Diné Education Proposed Budget stsosle@navajo-nsn.gov 10,000.00 10,000.00 ê Œ Dr. Harold G. Begay, Superintendent of Schools Division Director / Branch Chief's Printed Name NNC Approved Original Budget \$0.00 0 PART V. I HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS BUDGET PACKAGE IS COMPLETE AND ACCURATE. Email Address: TOTAL Total # of Positions Budgeted: Total # of Vehicles Budgeted: Fund Type Code 9 Program Title: Office of NN Scholarship & Financial Assistance-DSAF PART IV. POSITIONS AND VEHICLES 5500 Communications and Utilities PART III. BUDGET SUMMARY 6000 Repairs and Maintenance 2001 Personnel Expenses 7000 Special Transactions 6500 Contractual Services 3500 Meeting Expenses 5000 Lease and Rental 8000 Public Assistance 3000 Travel Expenses 9500 Matching Funds 9000 Capital Outlay APPROVED BY: 9500 Indirect Cost (928 871-7446 4000 Supplies % of Total 100% 100% Phone No.: 10,000.00 \$10,000.00 Rose Graham, Department Manager II Amount TOTAL: 10/1/21 - 9/30/22 Fiscal Year Лепп Sheila Tsosle 509007 PART II. FUNDING SOURCE(S) Special Revenue Fund/External PART I. Business Unit No.: Prepared By: SUBMITTED BY:

FY 2022

EXHIBIT

Division Director/ Byanch Chief's Signature and Date

Program Manager's Printed Name

NAVAJO NATION



JONATHAN NEZ | PRESIDENT MYRON LIZER | VICE PRESIDENT

May 10, 2022

Michael D. Apgar Gretchen D Apgar

Re:

Acceptance of Donation to the Nation Diné Scholarship Annual Fund

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Apgar,

On behalf of the Navajo Nation, it is my privilege to accept your generous donation of \$10,000 to the Diné Scholarship Annual Fund. We are grateful for your support of the students of the Navajo Nation. Your donation will assist students who would otherwise not receive financial assistance. In 2020, a total of 13,225 students applied for assistance through the Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance; slightly more than half of those students received assistance.

Pursuant to Navajo Nation law, 2 N.N.C. §1010, gifts or donations valued in excess of one thousand dollars (\$1000) are accepted by the Navajo Nation President with the concurrence of the Naabik'íyáti Committee. We are currently taking steps to bring legislation to comply with our law.

Again, on behalf of the Navajo Nation, thank you for the generous contribution that will benefit our students.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Nez, President

THE NAVAJO NATION

THE NAVAJO NATION

8/31/2022

10:44:14 AM

Amd# to Amd#

New Business: Item C.

PASSED

MOT Wauneka, E

-Legislation 0143-22: Approving

SEC Halona, P

and Accepting the Monetary

Donation of \$10,000 from . . .

Yeas: 19

Nays: 0

Excused: 2

Not Voting: 2

Yea: 19

Begay, E Begay, P Brown Charles-Newton Freeland, M Halona, P James, V Nez, R Slater, C Stewart, W Tso, C Tso, D Tso, E Tso, O

Walker, T Wauneka, E Yazzie

Yellowhair

Nay: 0

Daniels

Excused: 2

Crotty

Smith

Not Voting: 2

Begay, K

Henio, J

Presiding Speaker: Damon