# RESOLUTION OF THE RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE of the 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Year, 2023

#### AN ACTION

RELATING TO THE RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE; APPOINTING DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE TO NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC Α AS REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES PUBLISHING COMPANY SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE

#### BE IT ENACTED:

#### SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

A. The Resources and Development Committee is established as a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §400(A).

#### SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. Standing committees are required to select a member to serve as a Shareholder Representative or Member Representative for certain Navajo Nation enterprises.
- C. The By-Laws of the Diné Development Corporation provide, "[a]s the sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation will be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . . "

D. The By-Laws of Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc. state, "[a]s a sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation shall be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . . "

3

- E. The By-Laws of the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution state that "the Navajo Nation's shares in the corporation shall be exercised by five (5) "Shareholder Representatives," composed of the one member (1) of the Standing Committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . ."
- F. The Charter of the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation at Article V (D) states "All rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees ...."
- The Resources and Development Committee is permitted to G. representative designate one member to the Transitional Energy Company, the Dine Development Corporation, the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc., and the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution.

## SECTION THREE. RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE AND SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE DESIGNEES

- A. The following member from the Resources and Development Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company: <u>Hon. Casey Allen Johnson</u>.
- B. The following member from Resources and Development Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Diné Development Corporation: Hon. Shawna Ann Claw.
- C. The following member from the Resources and Development Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc.: Hon. Shawna Ann Claw.
- D. The following member from Resources and Development Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution: Hon. Otto Tso.

E. The following member from Resources and Development Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation: Hon. Otto Tso.

#### CERTIFICATION

I, hereby, certify that the following resolution was duly considered by the Resources and Development Committee of the 25<sup>th</sup> Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting at St. Michaels, AZ, (Navajo Nation) Arizona, at which quorum was present and that same was passed by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, on this 26<sup>th</sup> day of April 2023.

K. S

Rickie Nez, Pro Tem Chairperson Resources and Development Committee Of the 25<sup>th</sup> Navajo Nation Council

111

Motion: Honorable Otto Tso

Second: Honorable Shawna Ann Claw

# RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

#### FIRST YEAR 2023

### ROLL CALL VOTE TALLY SHEET

LEGISLATION #0063-23: AN ACTION RELATING TO THE RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE; APPOINTING DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE TO THE NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC AS A MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES PUBLISHING COMPANY AS SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE. Sponsor: Honorable Brenda Jesus

Date:

April 26, 2023 – Regular Meeting (St. Michaels, Arizona and Teleconference)

Location:

Navajo Nation Land Department – 2B Taylor Road, Building #8966 – St. Michaels,

Arizona.

Resources and Development Committee called in via teleconference from their

location within the boundary of the Navajo Nation.

#### Amendment #1:

M: Otto Tso

S: Brenda Jesus

V: 3-0-1 (CNV)

In Favor: Rickie Nez; Danny Simpson; Otto Tso

**Opposition:** None

Excused: Casey Allen Johnson Abstention: Shawna Ann Claw

Not Voting: Rickie Nez, Pro Tem Chairperson

### Main Motion:

M: Otto Tso

S: Shawna Ann Claw

V: 4-0-1 (CNV)

In Favor: Shawna Ann Claw; Rickie Nez; Danny Simpson; Otto Tso

**Opposition:** None

Excused: Casey Allen Johnson

Not Voting: Rickie Nez, Pro Tem Chairperson

Honorable Rickie Nez, Pro Tem Chairperson

Resources and Development Committee

Rodney L. Tahe.

Rodney L. Tahe, Legislative Advisor

Office of Legislative Services