RESOLUTION OF THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' STANDING COMMITTEE 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL -- First Year, 2023

AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; APPROVING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS OF NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE NAVAJO-HOPI LAND COMMISSION

BE IT ENACTED:

SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

- A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Naabik'íyáti' Committee as a Navajo Nation standing committee. 2 N.N.C. §§ 700 (A).
- B. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee approves the Navajo Nation Speaker's appointments to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission. 2 N.N.C. § 852(A).

SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission within the Legislative Branch. 2 N.N.C. § 851(A).
- B. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission's purpose is to "[m]onitor, collect, and update information on any and all land use conflicts between the Navajo Nation and the Hopi Tribe, and any claimants in and to lands within the area described in the Act of June 14, 1934 (48 Stat. 960) [and to] [s]peak and act for the Navajo Nation with respect to the land selection and land exchange provisions of Pub.L. 96-305." 2 N.N.C. § 851 (B).
- C. The Speaker shall appoint nine (9) Navajo Nation Council voting members who represent areas affected by the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute. 2 N.N.C. § 852(A).
- D. The Speaker's memorandum appointing nine (9) members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission is attached as **Exhibit A**.
- E. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission members shall serve at the pleasure of the Naabik'íyáti' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 852(B)(2).
- F. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission members shall serve a term coinciding with their term as Navajo Nation Council Delegates and until their successors are appointed. 2 N.N.C. § 852(D).

SECTION THREE. APPROVING APPOINTMENTS

The Naabik'íyáti' Committee approves the Speaker's appointment of Navajo Nation Council members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission:

- 1. Honorable Otto Tso
- 2. Honorable Lomardo Aseret
- 3. Honorable Cherilyn Yazzie
- 4. Honorable Helena Nez Begay
- 5. Honorable Herman M. Daniels, Jr.
- 6. Honorable Vince R. James
- 7. Honorable Casey Allen Johnson
- 8. Honorable Germaine Simonson
- 9. Honorable Crystalyne Curley

CERTIFICATION

I, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the 25th Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 15 in Favor, and 00 Opposed, on this 23rd day of March 2023.

Honorable Crystalyne Curley, Chairwoman Naabik'íyáti' Committee

Naabik iyaci Committee

3/28/23

Motion: Honorable Casey Allen Johnson

Second: Honorable Brenda Jesus

Chairwoman Crystalyne Curley not voting

SPEAKER





OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER 25TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Honorable Otto Tso

Honorable Lomardo Asert Honorable Cherilyn Yazzie Honorable Helena Nez Begay Honorable Herman Daniels Honorable Vince James

Honorable Casey Allen Johnson Honorable Germaine Simsonson

FROM:

Crystalyne Curley, *Speaker* 25th Navajo Nation Council

DATE:

March 15, 2023

SUBJECT:

Appointments for the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission

Pursuant to 2 N.N.C. § 852 (A), the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission shall consist of nine (9) regular voting members and two (2) ex-officio members who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council with the approval of the Naabik'iyati' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 852 (B)(1) states nine (9) voting members shall consist of the Navajo Nation Council representing areas affected by the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute.

It is my pleasure to appoint you as a member of the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission. As the council representative from Tachee/Blue Gap and Low Mountain, I will also be serving as a member. This memorandum serves as notification of your appointment; the appointment will be effective upon approval by the Naabik'iyati Committee. Your appointment will be concurrent with your term as a Council Delegate.

The purpose and authorities of the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission can be found at 2 N.N.C. §§ 851-858. Should you have any questions or concerns please contact Deputy Chief of Staff Jared Touchin at (982) 871-7160 or <u>jared.touchin@navajo-nsn.gov</u>. Thank you.

OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER | P.O. BOX 3390 | WINDOW ROCK, ARIZONA 86515 | PH: (928) 871-7160 | FAX: (928) 871-7255

NAVAJO NATION

Naa'bik'iyati' Committee Regular Meeting

02:16:05 PM

3/23/2023

Amd# to Amd#

CONSENT AGENDA;

PASSED

MOT Johnson, C

New Business: Item B.

SEC Jesus, B

-Legislations: #0036-23,

#0037-22, #0039-23

Yeas: 15

Nays: 0

Excused: 6

Jesus, B

Not Voting: 2

Yea: 15

Arviso, S Aseret, L Begay, H Begay, N Claw, S Damon, S Daniels, H

Johnson, C Nez, A James, V Nez, R

Parrish, S Tolth, G

Tso, O

Nay: 0

Excused: 6

Charles-Newton, E

Simonson, G

Slater, C

Yazzie, C

Notah, N

Simpson, D

Not Voting: 2

Crotty, A

Yanito, C

Presiding Speaker: Curley, C