RESOLUTION OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

23RD NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL -- Third Year, 2017

AN ACTION

RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. MAE FRANKLIN TO THE DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION

SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

- A. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission shall operate under the legislative oversight of the Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 3583; CAP-14-15.
- B. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council, pursuant to 2 N.N.C. § 164(A)(9), reviews proposed legislation which requires final action by the Navajo Nation Council. CO-45-12.
- C. Pursuant to NABIAU-52-15 and CJA-14-17, the Navajo Nation Council appoints the six (6) commission members representing the six [affected] uranium regions [Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern, Western and Central].

SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission (DURAC) was established within the Executive Branch of the Navajo Nation through Resolution CAP-14-15.
- B. The initial term of the Commission shall be approximately five (5) years. The term shall begin when a quorum of Commissioners is established, and shall end on September 30, 2021. CJA-14-17.
- C. The seven (7) Commission members shall be Community Members, one from each of the six regions (as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency) affected by past uranium mining - Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern, Western, and Central - and one selected as an At-Large Community Representative. These seven (7) members shall all be enrolled members of the Navajo Nation. Id.
- D. The Commission Members appointed by the Navajo Nation Council may be removed by a majority vote of the Council,

for repeated failure to attend meetings, for failure to faithfully conduct Commission business, or for any other just cause. In this case, the Council shall promptly appoint a replacement Commission Member. If the Council fails to fill the Commission seat within ninety (90) days of the vacancy, the President shall appoint a replacement Commission Member within sixty (60) days thereafter. *Id*.

- E. The President and the Council may, but are not required to, make a public announcement soliciting letters of interest and statements of qualification for the Commission member positions. *Id*.
- F. Ms. Mae Franklin was nominated and recommended to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission by the Western Navajo Agency Council on March 25, 2017. Western Navajo Agency Council Resolution is attached as **Exhibit A**.
- G. Ms. Mae Franklin is an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation. Certificate of Indian Blood is forthcoming and will be attached as an Exhibit.
- H. Ms. Mae Franklin's appointment to the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission is for the initial term of five (5) years.

SECTION THREE. CONFIRMING APPOINTMENT

Pursuant to 2 N.N.C. 701(A)(1), the Navajo Nation hereby confirms the appointment of Ms. Mae Franklin to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as a Community Member of the Western Agency for the initial term of five (5) years.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona) at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 12 in favor and 00 opposed, this 17th day of October 2017.

LoRenzo C. Bates, Speaker Navajo Nation Council

10-25-17

Date

Motion: Honorable Nathaniel Brown Second: Honorable Alton Joe Shepherd

Speaker Bates not voting



WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY COUNCIL



HANK STEVENS JERRY WILLIAMS President Vice-President

S SARAH SLIM Secretary

RESOLUTION OF THE WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO.: _____

NOMINATING AND RECOMMENDING THE APPOINTMENT OF MAE FRANKLIN TO SERVE ON THE DINE URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION REPRESENTING WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY. WHEREAS:

- 1. The Western Navajo Agency Council is authorized and established representing the 18 chapters of Western Navajo Agency to address all matters of local and interest and concern; and
- The Western Navajo Agency Council is committed to providing and assisting with opportunities for the betterment and improvement of standard of living for it's constituents; and
- The Western Navajo Agency Council recognizes that pursuant to 2N.N.C. §§ 3580 and CAP-14-15, the Dine Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission ("Commission") was established; and,
- 4. The Western Navajo Agency Council recognizes that pursuant to CAP-14-15 the Commission shall be composed of seven community members, one member shall be nominated from each of the six uranium regions of the Navajo Nation (as defined by USEPA), plus one-at-large member (including Northern, North Central, Eastern, Western, and Central, and one At-Large); and
- The Western Navajo Agency Council recognizes the significant importance of having representation on the "Commission" and that there is a vacancy in its representation on the "Commission"; and
- To ensure the opportunity for input and continuity on the Commission, The Western Navajo Agency Council has determined that it is in the best interest to recommend the appointment of <u>Mrs. Mae Franklin</u> to represent the Western Navajo Agency on the Commission; and
- 7. Mrs. Mae Franklin, is an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation, currently serving as Secretary-Treasurer of the Cameron chapter.

WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY COUNCIL CHAPTERS

BIRDSPRINGS/TBIDII TO'II ~ BODANAI/GAP ~ CAMERON ~ CHILCEIMEETO ~ COALMINE CANYOM COPPERMINE ~ DENNEHOTSO ~ INSCRIPTION NOUSE/TS'AH BII'RIN ~ KAIBETO/KAI'BII TO ~ KAYENTALECHKE ~ LEUPP ~ NAVAJO NOUNTAIN ~ OLJATO ~ INCNTO ~ TOLANI LAKE - TÖMANKESDISI ~ TONALEA



WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY COUNCIL

Vice-President

HANK STEVENS President

JERRY WILLIAMS SARAH SLIM Secretary



NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The Western Navajo Agency Council hereby nominates the appointment of Mae Franklin to serve on the Dine Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission to represent the Western Navaio Agency.

CERTIFICATION

We, hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was properly presented at a duly called Western Navajo Agency Council Meeting, Cameron Chapter, Cameron, Arizona, where a guorum was present and passed the Resolution with a vote of 24 in Favor, 0, and 1 Abstention on this 25th day of March, 2017.

Motion: Angle Cody

Second By: Leland Dayzie

PRESIDING

Hank Stevens, President WNA Council Navaio Nation

WESTERN NAVAJO AGENCY COUNCIL CHAPTERS

BIRDSPRINGS/TSIDII TO'II ~ BODANAI/GAP ~ CAMERON ~ CHILCHINBESO ~ COALMINE CANYON COPPENDINE ~ DENNEHOTSO ~ INSCRIPTION NOUSE/TS'AR BIT'KIN ~ KAIRETO/KAI'BIT TO ~ KAYENTALECHEE -LEUPF - NAVAJO MOUNTEAIN - OLJATO - SHONTO - TOLANI LAKE - TÓMANRESDIEL - TONALEA

NAVAJO NATION RCS# 854 10/17/2017 NNC Fall Session 08:26:05 PM Amd# to Amd# Legislation No. 0264-17 PASSED **MOT Brown** Confirming the Appointment SEC Shepherd of Ms. Mae Franklin to Dine **Uranium Remediation** Yea : 12 Nay:0 Not Voting: 11 Yea : 12 Begay, K Brown Perry Slim Begay, S Chee Phelps Tso BeGaye, N Damon Shepherd Yazzie Nay:0 Not Voting: 11 Hold Dete - ++. Smith _

Bates	Crotty	Hale	Smith
Begay, NM	Daniels	Jack	Tsosie
Bennett	Filfred	Pete	Witherspoon