## RESOLUTION OF THE LAW AND ORDER COMMITTEE

# 23<sup>RD</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - FIRST YEAR, 2015

#### AN ACTION

RELATING TO LAW AND ORDER COMMITTEE; SELECTING AND APPOINTING A LAW AND ORDER COMMITTEE MEMBER AS SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS COMPANY, INC.

BE IT ENACTED:

### SECTION 1. FINDINGS

- A. On October 5, 2015, the Navajo Nation Council ratified the Restated Federal Chapter of Incorporations for the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Company with the Navajo Regional Director's condition. CO-40-15,23<sup>RD</sup> Navajo Nation Council (Oct. 5, 2015).
- B. The Ratified Charter states, "[a]ll rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees, in accordance with this Charter and the applicable tribal law...Each standing committee shall select its own shareholder representative." Restated Federal Chapter of Incorporation for the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Company art. V. sec. D.
- C. The Navajo Nation Council established the Law and Order Committee (LOC) as a Navajo Nation standing committee. 2 N.N.C. § 600 (A) (2012) see also CJA-03-13.
- D. As a Navajo Nation Council standing committee, the Law and Order Committee shall select a member to serve as a Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative.
- E. Selecting and appoint the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative is the Navajo Nation's best interest.

## SECOND 2. SELECTION AND APPOINTMENT

The Law and Order Committee select and appoint <u>Jonathan</u> <u>Perry</u> as their Navajo Nation Oil and Gas shareholder representative.

## CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolutions was duly considered by the Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona) at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 3 in favor and 0 opposed this 26TH day of October 2015.

Edmund Yazzie Chairperson

Law and Order Committee

Motion: Honorable Jonathan Perry Second: Honorable Kee Allen Begay