## RESOLUTION OF THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

## 23<sup>RD</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - Third Year, 2017

#### AN ACTION

RELATING TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE; ESTABLISHING A TASK FORCE OF THE EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE BRANCHES TO REVIEW THE CONDITIONS OF APPROPRIATION IN THE APPROPRIATIONS ACT

BE IT ENACTED:

#### SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

- A. The Budget and Finance Committee is a Standing Committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 300(A).
- B. The Budget and Finance Committee exercises oversight in the areas of budget, finance, investment, bonds, and contracting for the purposes of coordinating, overseeing, and regulating the fiscal, financial, investment, and contracting policies of the Navajo Nation. 2 N.N.C. § 300(C)(1).
- C. Navajo Nation committees may establish subcommittees consisting of committee members selected by the committee. The subcommittees shall exist until its assigned tasks are completed and a final report and recommendation is made to the committee. The same provisions which apply to committee meetings shall also apply to subcommittee meetings.
- D. Task forces perform work that is the same or similar to subcommittees. A task force may be comprised of members outside the standing committee authorizing the task force.

#### SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

A. A Task Force compromised of Legislative and Executive Branch members is needed to discuss the Navajo Nation's use of Conditions of Appropriation.

- B. The Task Force will meet as needed in order to meet its objective of reviewing and recommending changes to the Conditions of Appropriation as defined in 12 N.N.C. § 810(I).
- C. The Office of the President and Vice President provided a memorandum dated April 5, 2017 with a listing of individuals to serve on the Task Force, attached as Exhibit A.

SECTION THREE. ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CONDITIONS OF APPROPRIATION TASK FORCE

- A. The Conditions of Appropriation Task Force shall report monthly to the Budget and Finance Committee on its progress and recommendations.
- B. The Conditions of Appropriation Task Force shall consist of five members from the Legislative Branch. These five members are as follows:
  - 1. LoRenzo C. Bates
  - 2. Dwight Witherspoon
  - 3. Seth Damon
  - 4. Leonard Tsosie and
  - 5. Kristen Lowell
- C. The COA Task Force shall consist of five members from the Executive Branch. These five members are as follows:
  - 1. Pearline Kirk, Controller, Office of the Controller
  - 2. Paul Spruhan, Assistant Attorney General, Department of Justice
  - 3. Dr. Glorinda Segay, Department of Health
  - 4. Dr. Tommy Lewis, Superintendent, Department of Diné Education
  - 5. Karis N. Begaye, Legal Counsel, Office of the President and Vice President

## SECTION FOUR. TASK FORCE TERM

The COA Task Force shall exist for a maximum of 12 months from when this Resolution is approved. The COA Task Force shall report its progress to the Budget and Finance Committee at least once a month. The COA Task Force shall provide a final report and recommendation at the end of its term to the BFC.

## CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Budget and Finance Committee of the Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting held at Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 3 in favor and 0 opposed, this 5<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2017.

> Leonard Tsosie, Pro Tem Chairperson Budget and Finance Committee

Motion: Honorable Lee Jack, Sr. Second: Honorable Tuchoney Slim, Jr. THE NAVAJO NATION



RUSSELL BEGAYE PRESIDENT JONATHAN NEZ VICE PRESIDENT

# **MEMORANDUM**

Budget and Finance Committee

FROM:

TO:

Russell Begaye, President THE NAVAJO NATION

**DATE:** April 5, 2017

# SUBJECT: Legislation 0109-17

As we discussed at our Leadership Meeting with the Budget and Finance Committee of the Navajo Nation Council ("BFC") there are several initiatives that we must address to issues that are impeding moving our Nation forward. I thank the BFC for pursuing this task force so we can now address these issues.

The following individuals shall serve on this Task Force:

- 1. Pearline Kirk, Controller, Office of the Controller
- 2. Paul Spruhan, Assistant Attorney General, Department of Justice
- 3. Dr. Glorinda Segay, Department of Health
- 4. Dr. Tommy Lewis, Supertintendent, Department of Dine Education
- 5. Karis N. Begaye, Legal Counsel, Office of the President and Vice President

If you have any further questions, please contact Karis N. Begaye, Legal Counsel, OPVP, (928) 871-7812.