RESOLUTION OF THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' STANDING COMMITTEE 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL -- First Year, 2023

AN ACTION RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTE; APPOINTING DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE TO THE NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC AS A MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES PUBLISHING COMPANY AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE

BE IT ENACTED:

SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY

A. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee is established as a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 700(A).

SECTION TWO. FINDINGS

- A. Standing committees are required to select a member to serve as a Shareholder Representative or Member Representative for certain Navajo Nation enterprises.
- B. The Operating Agreement of the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC, at Article III (C) states that the membership interest in the Company "shall be exercised by five (5) "member representatives," composed of one (1) member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council (or their successor committees)"
- C. The By-Laws of the Diné Development Corporation provide, "[a]s the sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation will be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . ."
- D. The By-Laws of Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc. state, "[a]s a sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation shall be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . ."

- E. The By-Laws of the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution state that "the Navajo Nation's shares in the corporation shall be exercised by five (5) "Shareholder Representatives," composed of the one (1) member of the Standing Committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees..."
- F. The Charter of the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation at Article V (D) states "All rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one (1) member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees"
- G. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee is permitted to designate onemember representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, the Diné Development Corporation, the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc., and the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution.

SECTION THREE. NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE AND SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE DESIGNEES

- A. The following member from the Naabik'íyáti' Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company: Honorable Rickie Nez.
- B. The following member from Naabik'íyáti' Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Diné Development Corporation: Honorable Vince R. James.
- C. The following member from the Naabik'íyáti' Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc.: Honorable Eugenia Charles-Newton.
- D. The following member from Naabik'íyáti' Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution: Honorable Brenda Jesus.
- E. The following member from Naabik'íyáti' Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation: Honorable Herman M. Daniels, Jr.

CERTIFICATION

I, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the 25th Navajo Nation Council at a duly called meeting in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona), at which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 16 in Favor, and 03 Opposed, on this 11th day of May 2023.

Honorable Germaine Simonson, Chairwoman Pro Tem Naabik'íyáti' Committee

May 19,2023

Date

Motion: Honorable Rickie Nez

Second: Honorable Helena Nez-Begay

Chairwoman Pro Tem Germaine Simonson not voting

NAVAJO NATION

Naa'bik'iyati' Committee Regular Meeting

5/11/2023 10:23:40 PM

Amd# to Amd#

(MODIFIED) New Business: Item A.

PASSED

MOT Nez, R SEC Begay, H

Legislation 0089-23: Appointing

Delegate Members from the

Naabik'iyati Committee to . . .

Yeas: 16

Nays: 3

Excused: 2

Not Voting: 2

Yea: 16

Arviso, S Begay, H

Charles-Newton, E

Curley, C Damon, S Daniels, H

James, V

Jesus, B Nez, A Nez, R Notah, N Parrish, S Simpson, D Slater, C Tso, O

Nay:3

Claw, S

Crotty, A

Begay, N

Yazzie, C

Excused: 2

Aseret, L

Johnson, C

Not Voting: 2

Yanito, C

Tolth, G

Presiding Speaker: Simonson, G